About SME

current location :home>About SME

College introduction

The School of Microelectronics, Southern University of Science and Technology (hereinafter referred to as the “School of Microelectronics") is a secondary college of the Southern University of Science and Technology. Collaborating with world-renowned universities in the Greater Bay Area, the school is established on top of innovative educational concepts and mechanisms to echo a series of national strategies and initiatives, including General Secretary Xi's important instruction of "promoting the scientific and technological cooperation between Hong Kong and the Mainland", the Outline for the National Program on the Development of the Integrated Circuit Industry", the Notice on Supporting Relevant Universities in Establishing Exemplary Microelectronics Schools, the strategic planning of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area, and Shenzhen's pioneering demonstration area for building socialism with Chinese characteristics.

The School of Microelectronics, leveraging the educational resources of world-renowned universities in the Greater Bay Area, aims to become a world-class national exemplary research institute of microelectronics. Currently, the school has signed cooperation agreements with major universities in the Greater Bay Area, including the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, the Hong Kong Polytechnic University, the University of Hong Kong, and the University of Macau, to enable close collaborations such as undergraduate exchanges and joint master and PhD programs.

Driven by the strong foundation and demands of semiconductor industry in Shenzhen and China, the school has planned four strategic research centers, namely,Research Center on IC Design Methodology and EDA, Research Center on High-performance System-on-chip ICs, Research Center on Wide Band Gap Semiconductor, Research Center on Microsystems and Applications. Additionally, a "More-Than-Moore” micro-nano processing platform and an advanced testing and analysis platform will be built to commensurate with the standards of top universities globally. In scientific research, the School of Microelectronics has been awarded a number of national and provincial qualifications, including the National Exemplary Institute of Microelectronics (28 in the country and only 3 in Southern China), the Future Communication IC Engineering Research Center of the Ministry of Education, and Guangdong GaN Device Engineering Technology Research Center and Shenzhen Third Generation Semiconductor Device Key Laboratory. Partnering with the semiconductor industry chain, the school concentrates on the R&D of core technologies and talent fostering to effectively support the development of the integrated circuit industry in the entire Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area that includes Shenzhen, Hong Kong and Macao, and even the entire country.

The school offers undergraduate and graduate programs and conducts research in microelectronics. The undergraduate program is the science and engineering of microelectronics and the graduate program is the electronic science and technology. The school is dedicated to bringing together a high quality faculty team by recruiting top-notch talents around the world. All our teachers have oversea experiences. With a teacher-student ratio of 1:10. our school plans to recruit 35 tenure-track faculties, 20 research/teaching-track staffs, a number of part-time teachers and visiting professors, and 10 engineers. In addition, the school will appoint senior researchers from the industry as part-time or visiting professors to strengthen university-industry collaborations. At present, we have 48 teachers from the Southern University of Science and Technology, the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, the University of Hong Kong, the Hong Kong Polytechnic University and the University of Macau, actively participating in the teaching and research of the school. Up to April, 2020, the school has 25 full-time teaching series/research series teachers.

In addition, holding a mission of “industry-education integration, collaborative education, career guidance and talent attraction", the school has cooperated with top-tier IC enterprises in the industry, such as HiSilicon, ZTE, Arm China, GRENTECH, Longsys, SMIT Group and PANGOMICRO to jointly build research centers and laboratories, and carry out IUR cooperation programs. The school aims to build a complete eco-system that incorporates government, industry, universities, and research institutions, so that technologies can be fully transferred to promote the economic development of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area.

The School of Microelectronics has planned a total area of 70,000 square meters, including spaces for teaching, research and laboratories; micro-nano processing and testing platform; land for IUR cooperation and collaborations with enterprises; four research centers; and land for technology transfer and commercialization, innovation and entrepreneurship, student dormitories and more. Upon completion, the school will accommodate 1,000 students.

关于本院

当前位置 :首页>关于本院

学院简介

南方科技大学深港微电子学院(以下简称:深港微电子学院)是在习总书记做出“促进香港同内地加强科技合作”重要指示的背景下,南方科技大学为积极贯彻落实《国家集成电路产业发展推进纲要》和《关于支持有关高校试办示范性微电子学院的通知》粤港澳大湾区战略规划以及深圳市建设中国特色社会主义先行示范区的相关精神,基于创新的办学理念和机制,与大湾区世界著名高校合作建设的二级学院。

深港微电子学院汇聚了大湾区世界著名高校的优势教学资源,目标建设成为国际化、高水平、研究型的国际一流的国家级示范性微电子学院。学院目前已经与大湾区香港科技大学、香港理工大学、香港大学、澳门大学达成合作办学意愿,签署合作框架协议,在本科生交换、修课型硕士生联培、博士生联培等方面合作制定了计划。

学院着力打造真正符合市场需求、具有国际竞争力的4个研究中心,即IC设计方法与EDA研究中心、高性能集成电路与片上系统集成研发中心、宽禁带半导体研究中心和微系统与芯片应用研究中心,以及微纳工艺研发平台和IC设计与测试平台。在科研领域已获得多个国家级和省市级资质,包括国家示范性微电子学院(全国28家,华南地区仅有3家),教育部未来通信集成电路工程研究中心,广东省GaN器件工程技术研究中心和深圳市第三代半导体器件重点实验室。围绕半导体产业链,加强核心技术研发与人才培养,对包括深圳、香港、澳门在内的整个粤港澳大湾区,乃至全国的集成电路产业的发展起到良好的支撑作用。

学院在本科、硕士、博士层次办学,在微电子学科开展研究。本科招生专业为微电子科学与工程专业;研究生招生专业为电子科学与技术。学院高度重视人才引进和高水平师资队伍建设,已初步建立了一支国际化高水平的教师队伍,全体教师都具有海外留学或工作的经历,胜任全英文教学。学院按照1:10师生比配备教师队伍,其中教研系列教师35名,研究系列/教学系列教师20人,兼职教师、客座教授等多名,工程师系列人员10名,另外学院还将聘请集成电路产业界资深人员作为兼职或客座教授,打造高水平专职兼职相结合的教师队伍。目前南方科技大学、香港科技大学、香港理工大学、香港大学、澳门大学积极参与学院教学、科研的师资共计48人。截止2020年10月,学院现有全职教学系列/研究系列教师30人。

此外,学院加强与企业的“产教融合、协同育人、引导就业、吸引人才”工作,与行业知名集成电路企业如海思、中兴、Arm中国、国人通信、江波龙、国微集团、紫光同创等合作,联合共建研究中心、联合实验室,开展产学研项目合作等。打造完整的政产学研用体系,使学院研究成果得以充分转化,助力粤港澳大湾区经济发展。

深港微电子学院规划总建筑面积7万平方米,主要包括教学科研与实验室;微纳工艺与检测平台;产学研合作、校企合作;四个研究中心;成果转化、创新创业、学生宿舍等空间。学院建成后将满足1000名在校生的办学需求。